Previewing the 2018 GP Sven Nys

December 31, 2017

Happy New Year from RideCX! The new year brings the debut of riders on new teams, new sponsors, and new kits at tomorrow's GP Sven Nys, January 1, 2018. GP Sven Nys is part of the DVV Trofee Series (formerly BPost Bank Trofee) and takes place annually in Baal, Belgium, the hometown of retired superstar Sven Nys. 

So how much of a legend do you have to be in order to have the race named after yourself? God-like status: Nys had a career that crossed into 3 decades and was remarkably consistent - during that time he won an amazing 2 World Champion rainbow jerseys, 9 national championships, the overall cyclocross World Cup 6 times, the Superprestige 13 times, 8 times the BPost / DVV series, and if that wasn't enough, 5 national titles in mountain biking too! 

But perhaps his most remarkable feat was winning an unbelievable 50 individual World Cup races. Year after year he kept winning, after most other riders his age had long since retired.

Tune in tomorrow to ring in the New Year with some cyclocross as the athletes chasing the legend, Sven Nys, compete in the race that bears his name: 

Trek Bikes USA has generously provided a free stream of all DVV Trofee races this year:

Also in News from the world of cyclocross

Don't change your cyclocross equipment right before a race

August 18, 2019

Today I broke one of my own rules: "never change your equipment right before a race." Don't make that mistake - follow these tips to ensure your equipment is ready and dialed for the first race of the season.

Continue Reading

Handling "goat-head" thorns

June 23, 2019

Learn how to avoid the dreaded "goat-head" thorn while cycling.

Continue Reading

The best of the 2019 North American Handmade Bicycle Show

March 20, 2019

A selection of images from the 2019 North American Handmade Bicycle Show.

Continue Reading